In the US, the national divorce rate is about 50 percent. In California, it’s 60 percent. Indeed, divorce rates in the state are astronomically higher that they were centuries ago. There are many reasons why this is happening. Some of which are socioeconomic advances, cultural changes, and irreconcilable differences. If you are to embark into the journey of marriage and you want to make sure you won’t end up getting divorced, it’s imperative that you scrutinize fully the person you’re planning to spend the rest of your life with. Checking over divorce in California is a good idea as such record contains substantial information such as whether that person has been married or not and if so, the reason for the failure of the previous marriage. You can do this by gaining access of California divorce records through the Bureau of Vital Statistics, Department of Public Health.
In the State of California, records of divorce that occurred from 1962 to 1984 are the only records kept in the Office of the Vital Statistics, Department of Public Health. Bear in mind that the records the Vital Statistics provide are not certified copies. Certified copies of divorce records and divorces that happened after 1984 can only be obtained from the county’s Superior Court where the divorce was filed.
Those who can only acquire certified copies of divorce decrees are the individuals indicated on the divorce record, the parents of these people, or entities specified in the law. In case you are not related to these individuals and you are merely doing a background check, then what you can only get is an informational copy. Such copy contains basic information as to who were the people involved, the reason of the separation, and other basic details. However, the information you can get may not be as much as what you can obtain from a certified copy of the said record.
After which, you have to file a request for the divorce record you want to obtain. For security purposes, the agencies mentioned above will have to ask you to fill out a record request form before they can grant you access to divorce records. Such form may be obtained online or directly from the Vital Statistics Office or the Superior Court. A payment of $13 for the processing fee is requisite.
After filling out the request form, you have to send it to the California Department of Public Health. The usual waiting period is anywhere from a couple of weeks to six months. The results can either be mailed to you or you can pick it up either at the Office of Vital Statistics or at the Superior Court. In case no divorce record is located, the state will issue a Certificate of No Public Record. The fee of $13, however, is retained as payment for the search according to the law of the state.
Today, divorce is becoming increasingly common and therefore more culturally acceptable. Where divorcees would once be shunned and pitied, it’s now rarer to think ill of someone who has gone through a divorce. Should you wish to obtain marriage and divorce records in California in a fast and easy way, then you pull a quick background check over such records online. Several online service providers are all over the web ranging from free to fee based. Such online record providers can provide you the records you need in a matter of minutes instead of the usual weeks to months of waiting time. Not only will you be able to save time, but also, you can also save money and effort through such service providers.